All Kidding Aside

Just another WordPress.com site

Hello! My Name Is Beth And I’m A Peanut Butter-aholic.

on August 4, 2012

Well, I’ve just completed my third month on this “diet”. I use the word diet loosely because I’ve come to realize a few things while on this journey. One is, is that I’m a peanut butter-aholic. I’ve come to the conclusion that it is going to be one of those things I’m just going to have to stay away from. I love it far too much, and only putting on a little isn’t fun.

I’ve always loved peanut butter. ALWAYS! I slathered it on my toast and bread as a child, and given the chance, I’d do it again. It’s just one of those things that I’m not allowed to have on my diet. Re-introducing it will be mega tough…I’m almost positive that I should just stay away from it altogether. Like the alcoholic who can no longer have his blessed rum or whiskey, I think I won’t be able to partake in the delicious smoothness of PB ever again.

Knowing my love of good ole PB, I might be tempted to slather myself in it.

Since last month, I’m down 11 lbs for a grand total of 42 lbs for the three months. I’m feeling much better, my clothes are fitting better, and I’m no longer winded when going up and down stairs. I’ve even been able to get on some of my old clothes from my closet. Oh, there’s still a ton of stuff in there that won’t fit me yet, but sooner or later I’ll get there. Hopefully by the time I go away in November I’m down another 20-30 lbs…maybe even more. That would be nice!

Oh, and I forgot to mention one thing…I’ve been doing this on my own without going to the clinic for the shots! I ran out of money, and although my benefits pay 90% of it, I still have to pay the money upfront and then send in my receipts. I just can’t afford to do that right now. So, I’ve been maintaining my diet quite well on my own.

And, by quite well, I mean that even while camping and eating stuff that wasn’t exactly on my prescribed diet, I still managed to lose a pound, and then two days later, lost another two pounds. I’m quite proud of myself actually.

So far I’ve only cheated once by having a small bowl of plain potato chips…I must admit to having some impure thoughts about the peanut butter though…but, I haven’t had any. If I get any on my fingers, I don’t lick them, and I definitely don’t lick the knife. I just hand the bagel and PB to Jamie to eat…

So far, I haven’t felt totally deprived. While everyone else is having dessert, I’m having fruit or I’ve realized that I’m just so full that I couldn’t possibly eat another thing. This has been good for me…realizing that.

I’ve been contemplating putting up my picture…but, I’d still like to wait…maybe next month…Oh wait…I said that the past two months, haven’t I…? Well, you’ll have to wait again. Sorry.

10 responses to “Hello! My Name Is Beth And I’m A Peanut Butter-aholic.

  1. Mari Collier says:

    That is an amazing war you are winning. Most people would not be able to do what you are doing. Just have compassion on the ones that diet and do not lose (No, not me). Someone else in the family. Congratulations on your hard fought battle..

  2. Peanut butter is one of life’s great pleasures, of course.

  3. I’ve been experimenting–instead of peanut butter and jelly, I made a PB&N (peanut butter and Nutella) sandwich.

  4. The Desert Rocks says:

    Congratulations. I feel the same way about Nutella. Nutella is hazelnuts instead of peanuts Beth. I love peanut butter too. I’m sure you look lovely! Show us the pictures!

  5. Beth Muscat says:

    Yeah, I know…I’ve had Nutella…it’s just not something I like so much. It’s ok…it would do in a pinch…but, I normally would pass on it. Oh, and I don’t look lovely…not quite yet…maybe in a couple of months…!

  6. aprilmorone says:

    🙂 Congrats, hon, on more weight loss. Because of my digestive problems, I eat peanut butter, too, which can help keep weight and even cholesterol down. It can be a better way to go.

Leave a Reply

