All Kidding Aside

Just another WordPress.com site

The Post Office Are Crooks! And Thank You, Mary!

on July 5, 2012

Well, month two is done and I’m doing well. I’m officially down a total of  31 lbs since my last blog. (18 lbs last month, 13 this month)

It would have been more, but I had to take a little time off from the diet…ok, not from the diet, because I followed it pretty much to a tee…but, I had to stop going to the clinic to get the B12 and B6 shots because I was waiting for the money from my benefits to get to me.

Oh, funny story about that…

So, I get my receipts (I had two of them for two weeks worth of shots) and fill out the paperwork for Sun Life (my work benefit company). I address it in my normal handwriting script to said company.

While I’m waiting for the money to come in, I told them at the clinic that I wouldn’t be in for a couple of weeks while I was waiting for my money to come in. They were ok with that. They expected me to go on some sort of “Temporary Maintenance”…but, that’s a whole other story. I didn’t do their TM because I wanted to continue to try to lose.

Anyway, I wait, and I wait…

Then I get a letter from Manulife…(my husbands work benefit company). I open it, wondering what it could be. It was like opening a letter from an agent saying that they were rejecting my book…this company was rejecting my claim.

But, I didn’t send it to Manulife….I sent my receipts to Sun Life! Ok, so they’re both in the same town (Waterloo)…but apparently the postal worker who delivers the letters there didn’t read the address. I don’t even know the address to Manulife, so why would they send it there?

Then, to make matters worse, they (Manulife) opened my claim and sent back the rejection letter as they don’t cover those shots unless you are vitamin deficient. Well, at least it didn’t take them months to send them back. I guess I should be thankful for that.

So, I re-do the paperwork and re-address the envelope to SUN LIFE. I printed it in BIG, BOLD letters, hoping that the dumbass postal worker would send it to the right place this time.

So, I go to the post office with my letter in hand. I complained that the post office had sent my claim to the wrong benefit company and wondered if I could get the money back for my stamp. They said, “We can’t do that. It wasn’t our fault.”

Ok, that may be true that it wasn’t their fault personally, but it still was the fault of the postal service. I didn’t get my 69 cents back…I know it’s not a lot, but it’s the principle of the thing. The postal service are just crooks. There’s no other way to look at it.

Well! While all this is going on, my friend Mary messaged me via facebook and asked about the program I’m on and wondered if she could use me for a referral. With Mary joining the program, I got two free weeks of shots! So, yay Mary!!! She’s doing amazingly well on the program. She doesn’t have much to lose and soon she’ll be on maintenance.

As for me, still no pictures yet…sorry. You’ll just have to use your imagination. However, people have mentioned that they can see the difference in my face. I can too.  BTW, I haven’t seen this weight in a long time. It’s all wonderful news from here on end…!

10 responses to “The Post Office Are Crooks! And Thank You, Mary!

  1. And the post office wonders why we gripe and complain.

    Not to mention wonders why dogs hate letter carriers…

  2. What a pain. I’m sure we’ve all had grief over the post office at some point. And congrats on the weightloss, Beth!

  3. The Desert Rocks says:

    Congratulations Bethie. I’m sure you look mahvelous. Meanwhile, I guess the only way to keep from ‘going postal’ at the post office is to start snooping around. Sheesh.

  4. If you postal service is anything like ours, it should be run by a guy named Murphy! If they can do it wrong, they will!

    Congrats on the weight loss!

  5. Beth Muscat says:

    LOL That’s exactly right. I’ve paid extra for next day service, and the person got it a few days later…that’s so stupid.

    And, thank you.

  6. DM Yates says:

    Beth, what wonderful news for you! As for the Post Office, I’m sure we’ve all had our run-ins with that place!

Leave a Reply

