All Kidding Aside

Just another WordPress.com site

One Month Gone…Many More To Go

on June 4, 2012

Well, last month (and I can’t believe I haven’t posted in a month…I’ve been busy promoting my books, Devon Cooper’s romantic comedy “Bad Day”, and reading/reviewing books) I wrote a blog about starting another diet…or as some people say, rearranging my eating habits. It’s been a long month, and yet, as I said, I can’t believe a month has gone by since I posted…so it’s been rather a short month as well.

I feel really good. My clothes fit a bit better. I’m in no way even close to my goal weight, but I find I’m not getting winded going up the stairs as much. That’s a plus.

Also, my blood pressure has significantly dropped. Like, so much so, my doctor has reduced my blood pressure medicine to a lower dose and discontinued the water pill that I usually take with my BP med. When you go from an original BP of 210/121 (that was about 3 years ago or so) to 90/60, it’s time to rethink the BP meds. I was sure that my doctor wouldn’t want me to go off them completely until we knew for certain that my BP wasn’t going to shoot up without the meds. I’d rather be safe than sorry.

So, in the month since I started this weight loss program, I’ve lost 18 lbs and feel pretty good. It’s a restrictive diet, but I’m not hungry (or 95% of the time I’m not)…and, I’ve been able to resist all manners of sabotage treats either at work and here at home. You know you’re being sabotaged when the hubby brings home KFC…well, I’m not going to sabotage my weight loss goals for a piece of greasy (but delicious) fried chicken. One night, hubby said he had a craving for a Snickers bar and asked if I wanted one. I gave him one of my looks, then said, “You know I can’t have that.” He said, “Well, I just thought it would be impolite not to ask.”

There’s a word for people like him.

Well, no pictures…not yet.

Maybe next month? Probably not. I’m still too self conscious about that. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to post a decent picture of myself by August or Septemember…one that will lift my spirits up when I look at it. And, hopefully by November when I go away with my sister, I will look smashing in a bathing suit.

And, when I’m rich and famous (LOL…I suppose it could happen), I’ll look good in my magazine cover picture…

6 responses to “One Month Gone…Many More To Go

  1. The Desert Rocks says:

    Your husband won’t recognize the old Beth and he might run off with Devon. Be careful and congratulations.

  2. Devon’s a hot chick!

    I hate to beat this thing to death, Beth, but please be careful.

    • Beth Muscat says:

      She’s hot, but she’s still not going to get my man! LOL

      I will. I’m being looked after by health professionals. They’ve been taking my blood pressure every 2 days, and I’m feeling really great! I know it seems like a lot, but to me, it’s just the tip of the iceberg. I’ve still got a long ways to go. Thank you for your concern. I’ll be careful.

  3. It’s good that you’re working on it. Just give it time.

  4. DM Yates says:

    The best news of all is the lowering of your BP. A huge congrats on that! You’re doing so well.

Leave a Reply

