All Kidding Aside

Just another WordPress.com site

Intervention Or Accountability?

on May 7, 2012

I’m going to be accountable to you all.

No, I’m not into drugs or alcohol. No, I’m not into some sort of weird kind of shit. But, I’ve been dealing with this for the better part of my life, and I really don’t want to be like this any more.

When I was a young girl, I wasn’t fat. I did have a little belly, but it didn’t hang over my pants like a muffin top. Right now, I not only have a muffin top; I’ve got the whole muffin store there, plus the cake aisle, plus the chip aisle, plus…!

When I was in high school, my mother would put me on a diet even though I didn’t need to be on one. But, if dad needed to lose weight, then we all had to go on the diet, too, I guess for moral support…and the fact that mother didn’t want to have to cook more than one meal.

As I got older, and out on my own, my mother wasn’t with me to tell me that I needed to go on a diet that I really didn’t need to be on. I could have whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.

Now I embark once again on another diet. I’m not getting any younger, and my father died young at 54 years old. I don’t want to leave this earth that soon!! I still have books to write!!

So, I’ve decided to rejoin Dr. Bernstein’s to help me to lose this weight. I’m not going to show you any before pictures of me until I’ve lost some of this poundage. I don’t want to gross you guys out completely and make you lose whatever meal you just ate!

I have a plane ticket to use up, so my sister and I decided to cross off a trip to Florida from our bucket lists. We’re not going until November, so I have time. Neither one of us has ever been anywhere, and Florida seemed like the perfect place to go. We’ll only be gone for four days, but that should be long  enough for us to get the traveling bug.

So I have a goal…Florida heat and sun, palm trees, and a Stateful of beaches!

I don’t want to look like a beached whale as I lay on the sands of Florida, so as of Tuesday, I will be rejoining Dr. Bernstein’s. I would have gone in today, but they need an hour to get my stuff and their stuff together, and since they need you to not eat prior to taking your blood for a fasting blood sugar test, and I was just off of midnights, I opted to eat, and I’ll go in tomorrow. And, thankfully my benefits from work still cover the majority of the cost of the program.

I’ll get my daughter to take a before picture of me, but as I said, you won’t see it right away. As I lose the weight, I’ll take a picture. Hopefully the end result will be blogworthy.

So, wish me luck, and I’ll see you back here in a month to be accountable to you all.

17 responses to “Intervention Or Accountability?

  1. DM Yates says:

    I’ll support you, Babe. Go for it. Believe in Yourself and be what you want to be. Although, personality wise, no one can beat yours.

  2. Beth Muscat says:

    Thanks Donna…I appreciate the words!!

  3. I wish you luck, kiddo, but please be careful.

  4. Think swimming and walking. Works wonders, and it’s enjoyable exercise.

  5. The Desert Rocks says:

    We want you to be healthy of course, but we love you muffin tops and all.

  6. K.L. Gore says:

    Diet might be the wrong term, Beth. I call it a “Lifestyle Change.” Basically whatever way you choose to lose the weight is the way you’ll be eating/exercising the rest of your life if you don’t want to gain it all back. Writers are dedicated people will tons of will power, so I know you can do it! (I had to do a “lifestyle change” after I hit forty and my metabolism slowed to a waltz.)

    • Beth Muscat says:

      Well, sitting around typing/playing on the computer doesn’t help. Even my work is pretty sedentary sometimes. But, you’re right…it is a lifestyle change…I’ve got to think of that, and Florida…and the goals I need to attain…and then, I’ll win this fight. Thanks for the kind words. They are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

