All Kidding Aside

Just another WordPress.com site

10 Things….

on November 26, 2010

     I live in a small town…a very small town…so, I’m not going to be able to tell you the 10 things I love about where I live…I could probably name you 10 things I don’t love about it, however.

     So, I’ll tell you the 10 things that I love about Ontario instead…Except for the first one, the rest are in no particular order.

1. Bon Echo Provincial Park: I grew up going here, and it is my most favourite place to go in the summer. I know every trail and it’s just a fun place to go. Even the Mazinaw Monster (in Lake Mazinaw) likes it here. This pic is from the cliff. Lake Mazinaw is the deepest lake (well, in one spot anyway) in Ontario.

2. Niagara Falls: Canadian side of course, because then we get the full view of not only our side of the falls, but the American side as well.

3. Terry Fox Monument in Thunder Bay: I haven’t seen this statue since I was about 11 or 12, but, he is a legend in Canada. Thunder Bay is where his run across Canada ended. To this day, every September, there are Terry Fox runs to raise money for cancer research. He lost his leg to cancer, and his hope, when he started running was to raise a million dollars. He’s raised much more than that.

4. The Thousand Islands: It’s been about 12 years since my hubby and I took the 1,000 Island Cruise, but I loved seeing the cottages and houses that are sprinkled on each little island. Boldt Castle was a disappointment on the inside, and not at all like I would have imagined. The outside, though, is spectacular.

5. Jungle Cat World in Orono: I’m a cat lover, of all shapes and sizes. At this zoo, they have mainly large cats like tigers, lions, pumas, etc. They also have a few other animals like monkeys and reptiles, but the main attraction are the cats. I love cats.

6. White Water Rafting: My sister and I, two years ago, rubbed something off of our “bucket lists”…we went white water rafting at Esprit. We rafted the Ottawa river and it was great! I never thought I would ever do it, but my sister decided it was something that, because some of her friends were going, that if she didn’t do it then, that she likely never would. She asked me to go, and we had a great weekend, even though it rained for most of the day we rafted.

7. Canadian National Exhibition: Every year, for the last 4 or 5 years, we’ve been making the trip to Toronto to the CNE. It’s always the same things there, year after year, but we have fun. My daughter likes to go on some of the smaller rides, and in this photo, there was a “walking tree”…


8. The Worlds Largest…: Well, we have a giant nickel, a giant goose, a big apple…there are many really “big” things…why? I have no idea…but, they’re fun to look at and I guess, they put that little town on the map…so to speak…and, trust me, these are only but a few…
Big Apple in Colbourne
Big Nickel in Sudbury
Toonie-why does Canada feel the need to enlarge their money??
Campbellford
Goose in Wawa
9. The Tragically Hip: One of Canada’s #1 bands, hailing from Kingston. They have an unique sound, and their lyrics are easily understood.

10. My family and friends…I don’t have a picture of everyone that I know and love…but, if I did, I’d put it right here…

     Well, there you have it. The 10 things that I love about Ontario…oh, I’m sure there are more…but, time and space constraints just won’t allow it. Maybe next time…


8 responses to “10 Things….

  1. Karla Telega says:

    Years ago, I knew a sweet old woman who invited us out to her cabin in the Thousand Islands. It was one of the nicest vacations I've ever taken. Thank you, Miss Libby!

  2. I love Bon Echo!It's been awhile since I've been to Niagara; I actually prefer Niagara on the Lake to the Falls, oddly…And it's been several years since I've seen the Terry Fox statue too. He was an extraordinary man.I have yet to go into the Thousand Islands though.As for those big things… the only thing I haven't seen is the giant toonie. The rest I've seen at one point or another.

  3. The Tragically Hip? Okaaaaay….The more photos I see of Canada, the more beautiful I realize it is. How did it take me so long to discover it?

  4. The Hip is a quintessential Canadian band. We've got a lot of musical talent up here, in a lot of different genres.We do apologize for Justin Bieber, and assure the world at large that inside of three years, he'll be gone again.

  5. Beth says:

    @William-OMG! Yes!!! I forgot to mention that…we do apologize for Justin B…and, I agree. He will be so full of himself (he's already started) that he will explode soon. Then, he'll be gone for good. @Norma-I could have mentioned the Barenaked Ladies…they're from Toronto…

  6. They're just not Ladies… and I can't speak for everyone, but I know I wouldn't want to see them Barenaked.

  7. Beth says:

    @William-me neither…LOL

  8. Susan Antony says:

    Nice pictures. Canada is beautiful!

Leave a comment